The NoRth :: Snæfellsness, Kirkjufell and intuition, or was it elves?

Everyone was heading south and the South sounded good to me too, but the NoRth was calling. Everytime I would look at a map I’d hear a voice inside say I want to go there, I need to go there. That place was Snæfellsness:: Kirkjufell and Snæfellsjökull.

The mountains we see from Reykjavik lead you there and along the road you are flanked by sea and mountains. An amazing number of waterfalls form as snow melt falls off the mountains that suddenly end into a thinish soggy plane to the sea.

Leaving Reykjavik .

We find a bay of small Icebergs .

Waterfalls galore.Our guide Johannes tells us many things about the Vikings, geology and elves on the way. I listen to how he says ‘Reykjavik’ and repeat it quietly aloud to myself until I have it.
Lava columns. These also exist in the South Coast .

Moss covered fields of lava on the way.

.

At the tip of the peninsula is Snæfellsjökull, a glacier topped Volcano 🌋. It is the only Volcano in Iceland that does not run along the continental rift which runs diagonally from the Souhwest to the Northeast through the country. It sits alone to the West north of Reykjavik. We will drive around it. It has been called the Center of the Earth by Jules Vern and for any Xfiles fans you may know it. There was a huge gathering some years ago waiting for aliens 👽. They didn’t show. The elves probably told them to beat it.

Kirkjufell had me at hello, she was the one who had brought me here. 💕It’s a 360 experience

Know what I mean?

Fun with camera effects

But it was the cliffs along the way that …well it’s sometimes what we don’t expect that we end up loving the most. It’s why we travel or? It’s why we try.


Here. This could be my jam.

😘🌋👽🇮🇸

Catch why I’m so behind on my tectonic plates #Iceland here.

5 thoughts on “The NoRth :: Snæfellsness, Kirkjufell and intuition, or was it elves?

Leave a Reply

